We're backing Subtitle it!

Everyone should have access to the high quality TV programmes and films that are offered by broadcasters and platform operators in the UK today. But, with thousands of hours of on-demand programming inaccessible to people with hearing and sight loss – due to a lack of subtitles, signing and audio description (“access services”) – urgent action is needed to prevent the digital exclusion of these groups.

The MPs below are backing Action on Hearing Loss’s call for legislation for subtitles, signing and audio description on video-on-demand services. Find out more about why legislation is needed, and the changes that need to be introduced.

We’re backing legislation for subtitles, signing and audio description on video-on-demand.

MP name
 Debbie Abrahams
 Oldham East and Saddleworth
 Heidi Allen
 South Cambridgeshire
 Richard Arkless
 Dumfries and Galloway
 Henry Bellingham
 North West Norfolk
 Tom Brake
 Carshalton and Wallington
 Andrew Bridgen
 North West Leicestershire
 Deidre Brock
 Edinburgh North and Leith
 Ronnie Campbell
 Blyth Valley
 Neil Carmichael
 Douglas Chapman
 Dunfermline and West Fife
 Jenny Chapman
 Rosie Cooper
 West Lancashire
 Angela Crawley
 Lanark and Hamilton East
 Alex Cunningham
 Stockton North
 Thangam Debbonaire
 Bristol West
 Martin Docherty
 West Dunbartonshire
 Nigel Dodds
 Belfast North
 Stuart Donaldson
 West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine
 Mark Durkan
 Marion Fellows
 Motherwell and Wishaw
 Frank Field
 Jim Fitzpatrick
 Poplar and Limehouse
 Rob Flello
 Stoke-on-Trent South
 Mary Glindon
 North Tyneside
 Roger Godsiff
 Birmingham Hall Green
 Neil Gray
 Airdrie and Shotts
 Kate Green
 Stretford and Urmston
 Lilian Greenwood
Nottingham South
 Andrew Gwynne
 Denton and Reddish
 Gordon Henderson
 Sittingbourne and Sheppey
 Kevin Hollinrake
 Thirsk and Malton
 George Howarth
 John Howell
 Norman Lamb
 North Norfolk
 David Mackintosh
 Northampton South
 Callum McCaig
 Aberdeen South
 Jason McCartney
 Colne Valley
 Dr Alasdair McDonnell
 Belfast South
 Natalie McGarry
 Glasgow East
 Catherine McKinnel
 Newcastle North
 John Mcnally
 Greg Mulholland
 Leeds North West
 Roger Mullin
 Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath
 Lisa Nandy
 Gavin Newlands
 Paisley and Renfrewshire North
 Caroline Nokes
 Romsey and Southampton North
 Albert Owen
 Ynys Mon
 Ian Paisley
 North Antrim
 Steven Paterson
 John Pugh
 Baroness Randerson
 House of Lords
 Angela Rayner
 Ashton Under Lyme
 Marie Rimmer
 St Helens South and Whiston
 Angus Robertson
 Gavin Robinson
 Belfast East
 Jim Shannon
 Barry Sheerman
 Tommy Sheppard
 Edinburgh East
 David Simpson
 Upper Bann
 Ruth Smeeth
 Stoke-on-Trent North and Kidsgrove
 Andrew Smith
 Oxford East
 Angela Smith
 Penistone and Stockbridge
 Wes Streeting
 Ilford North
 Mark Tami
 Alyn and Deeside
 Derek Thomas
 St. Ives
 Nick Thomas-Symonds
 Robin Walker
 Eilidh Whiteford
 Banff and Buchan
 Craig Williams
 Cardiff North
 Sammy Wilson
 East Antrim
 Daniel Zeichner

Subtitle it report visual contextual driver